Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout

Blackout

$34.00 Sale Save
Color Blackout
Size One Size
Size Guide

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

Our UPF 50+ Signature Lifeguard hat is the ultimate accessory for sun protection.  Featuring a tall cattleman crown, wide brim and solid under brim liner, this lightweight hat ensures maximum coverage and style. Choose from a variety of colors to elevate your outdoor lifestyle while keeping safe from harmful UV rays.
  • UPF 50+ under brim liner.
  • Materials: 100% hand woven straw, polyester under brim liner, cotton/poly drawcord and wooden bead.
  • Brim length: 4.5" / 11.4 cm.
  • Adjustable drawcord.
  • Anti-corrosive eyelets.

* Please note this hat is hand woven from straw, weave may vary slightly from piece to piece. Each hat is individually crafted and is unique in its own way.

  • One size fits most adults.
  • Fit measures between size Small (55 cm) - Large (59 cm).
  • Need a bigger size? Select, Signature Lifeguard hats are offered in size XL (60 cm) - XXXL (65 cm). Filter by size to view our Signature Lifeguard hats that are offered in extended sizing.
  • Need a smaller size? Try our Big Kids Signature Lifeguard hat that measures between (47 cm) - (56 cm).

Visit our Size Guide page to learn how to measure your head and find your perfect fit.

To ensure the longevity of your hat, please follow these care instructions:

  • Keep your hat dry and avoid getting it wet.
  • Store your hat in a cool, dry place away from direct sunlight.
  • Handle with care, do not crush, fold or bend your hat.
  • Store your hat on a flat surface and consider using a hat box for added protection.
  • If traveling, avoid packing in a suitcase. Visit our Care & Handling page for more details.

Free standard US shipping on orders over $100. US orders may be returned or exchanged up to 30 days from date of purchase. Returns and exchanges must be in new condition, unworn and free of damages – a quick try on is cool, a float down the river or a sweaty hike is less cool.

Visit our Returns & Exchanges page for more details.

Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout
Blackout

Customer Reviews

Based on 102 reviews
86%
(88)
5%
(5)
4%
(4)
3%
(3)
2%
(2)
P
PbJ
Defective but replaced quickly

I've ordered BlackOut hat for Father's Day for my husband and was disappointed in its quality upon arrival. The hat wasn't damaged, but the straw weave was spaced too far apart, causing visible gaps in the pattern. I have purchased many Hemlock Hats in the past that didn't display such gaps. I've contacted Hemlock team for a return/exchange and they sent the replacement hat right away. For my replacement hat, I requested to change the style to Midway and they kindly agreed. In addition, I got to keep the BlackOut style without the need to return it. My husband is very satisfied with his Midway hat and an additional BlackOut (original order) that he's using for yard work. Happy customer!

Thank you for your review! So happy you were helped quickly and that you were satisfied with your replacement! :)

J
Jessica Porter
My favorite

The Black Out is my second Hemlock lifeguard hat and as much as I loved my other (pictures). I think this is the favorite. The black lining helps with sun/brightness reflecting better than my other which is perfect for my light-sensitive eyes.
Having purchased two, I obviously love them. Lightweight and wide brim for full face and some shoulder coverage. Perfect for the beach, lake and even pool days.

Thank you for your review! The Bowie lifeguard hat looks great on you! So glad you like the Blackout too!

N
Ntm
Avoid wide straw hat

I love our other hemlock hats but not this material. I’d avoid wide straw material hats and stick to skinnier straw material hats for better quality. 3 starts for the hat itself but 5 stars for the quick customer service.

k
kate atwell
Love it but it’s already breaking on top

Hat is very nice looking and blocks the sun but the top part is cracking and breaking only after a short time of owning it. It appears to have glue on it? I’m not happy with quality

Hello Kate, thank you for your review. If you think there might be a warranty issue with your item please send us a few pictures and your order number at support@hemlockhatco.com.

Thank you

M
Morgan W
Arrived Damaged

I received this hat and the grommet on one side was broken. I contacted the company via email but have not heard back. It's still wearable but a bummer that it's not perfect like the last hat I bought from them was. I cut part of the grommet off so that the cord could be adjusted as I couldn't get it to stick back together. After this experience I don't know if I'd buy another hat off the website, or try to find them for sale at a store.

Hello Morgan, thank you for your review. If you have not been helped yet, please email us at support@hemlockhatco.com so we can further assist you with this matter.

Thank you

Customer Reviews

Based on 102 reviews
86%
(88)
5%
(5)
4%
(4)
3%
(3)
2%
(2)
P
PbJ
Defective but replaced quickly

I've ordered BlackOut hat for Father's Day for my husband and was disappointed in its quality upon arrival. The hat wasn't damaged, but the straw weave was spaced too far apart, causing visible gaps in the pattern. I have purchased many Hemlock Hats in the past that didn't display such gaps. I've contacted Hemlock team for a return/exchange and they sent the replacement hat right away. For my replacement hat, I requested to change the style to Midway and they kindly agreed. In addition, I got to keep the BlackOut style without the need to return it. My husband is very satisfied with his Midway hat and an additional BlackOut (original order) that he's using for yard work. Happy customer!

Thank you for your review! So happy you were helped quickly and that you were satisfied with your replacement! :)

J
Jessica Porter
My favorite

The Black Out is my second Hemlock lifeguard hat and as much as I loved my other (pictures). I think this is the favorite. The black lining helps with sun/brightness reflecting better than my other which is perfect for my light-sensitive eyes.
Having purchased two, I obviously love them. Lightweight and wide brim for full face and some shoulder coverage. Perfect for the beach, lake and even pool days.

Thank you for your review! The Bowie lifeguard hat looks great on you! So glad you like the Blackout too!

N
Ntm
Avoid wide straw hat

I love our other hemlock hats but not this material. I’d avoid wide straw material hats and stick to skinnier straw material hats for better quality. 3 starts for the hat itself but 5 stars for the quick customer service.

k
kate atwell
Love it but it’s already breaking on top

Hat is very nice looking and blocks the sun but the top part is cracking and breaking only after a short time of owning it. It appears to have glue on it? I’m not happy with quality

Hello Kate, thank you for your review. If you think there might be a warranty issue with your item please send us a few pictures and your order number at support@hemlockhatco.com.

Thank you

M
Morgan W
Arrived Damaged

I received this hat and the grommet on one side was broken. I contacted the company via email but have not heard back. It's still wearable but a bummer that it's not perfect like the last hat I bought from them was. I cut part of the grommet off so that the cord could be adjusted as I couldn't get it to stick back together. After this experience I don't know if I'd buy another hat off the website, or try to find them for sale at a store.

Hello Morgan, thank you for your review. If you have not been helped yet, please email us at support@hemlockhatco.com so we can further assist you with this matter.

Thank you